The Birdwatcher’s Yearbook 2014

I’ve been a great fan of The Birdwatcher’s Yearbook for over twenty-five years, so I’m thrilled to have been chosen to paint the cover image for the 2014 issue. Past artists include Chris Rose, Peter Partington and John Threlfall. The only difficulty has been keeping the painting under wraps until the publisher Buckingham Press Ltd, was ready to release it.

The brief was to paint a pair of birds, with one looking directly at the viewer, in any medium and style. The format had to be square, and the painting had to be at least twice the size of the reproduction. I could choose any species from the British List, providing my chosen species hadn’t been used as a cover image before.

I had a few species on my short list but decided to choose Smew, as it’s a bird I love to see and a popular one with many birders. So without further ado, here’s the painting…

Smew Pair

… and here’s how it looks as the cover image

BYB14 cover mock-up

The Yearbook is an indispensible guide for birders, containing ornithological news, tide times, nature reserve information, bird clubs contact details, sightings checklists, book and website reviews and much, much more. See more details here: The Birdwatcher’s Yearbook

The Yearbook will be published in October 2013, and I’ll be showing the painting at Bird Fair 2013.

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Nature, Wildlife, Wildlife Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Birdwatcher’s Yearbook 2014

  1. matthias1982 says:

    congrats!! great painting!

  2. matthias1982 says:

    I will check it out! You really have wonderful paintings on your blog! I wish I could paint or draw like that!!!!

  3. Thanks, for your comment. I’m really pleased with the way the cover looks. As for “drawing like that”, why not have a go? It’s mostly practice – the more you do, the better you get, just like anything else.

Leave a Reply

