Good Times, Bad Times

“The painting gave me a lot of trouble, with insignificant results.  This mode of exercise annoys me deeply.”

So said the great Impressionist painter Berthe Morisot, and I have to say I know how she feels.  I’ve just scrapped my latest watercolour as, when I lifted off some of the colour, I found the pigment had stained the paper and I wasn’t able to get it back to white.  Annoying that some colours stain and some don’t, but one only finds out too late.  This was a new colour (Sennelier lemon yellow) for me.  It’s a lovely vibrant colour but I didn’t know how that brand would behave.   I should have done a test piece first, but I’ll know for next time.

On a happier note, I’ve just taken delivery of my new Mindbender puzzles: butterflies this time.  They look fabulous and are just in time for my Open Studio on Sunday.

Spending today hauling screens out of their storage up to the studio ready for the afore-mentioned Open Studio.  I’ll have about thirty paintings on display, plus unframed work, sketchbooks and prints.  It always takes longer than I expect to set everything up, but worth it when I see it all displayed as I want.  I’m so lucky to have such a great studio, and I love showing it off!

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

