Pigeon Post

Step 2

I’ve blocked in the pigeons and started to suggest the dappled light.  The main branch needs to be dark to contrast with the brighter background, but I need to add in some more dark branches for balance. 

As usual there’s a strong diagonal in the image.  Most of my images contain diagonal lines, partly because they generally produce a more dynamic composition and partly because one day I noticed that I naturally include them.

Step 3 tomorrow.

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Wildlife Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pigeon Post

  1. Mottram says:

    LOVE YOUR WORK, I STOPPED USING ACRYLICS AS I FOUND IT DIFFICULT ONCE THE LAYERS BUILT UP AND THE SURFACE WOULD NOT ACCEPT MORE PAINT. I AM NOW USING OILS BUT WOULD PREFER TO GO BACK TO ACRYLICS.

    • Thank you; I’m very glad you like my work.
      For me the build up of layers and texture is one of the exciting parts of painting with acrylics, especially when the evolution of the painting can be seen through the underlying marks. Don’t forget you can always sand down a clogged surface and then continue working (if you’re working on a board or panel, of course). You could also try the more fluid types of acrylics which would give less build up and then add a texture medium when you want thicker paint. Don’t give up on acrylics if you really want to use them.

Leave a Reply

