Reach for the Sky

My last post looked at the various types of work and led on to comments about artistic integrity.  I’m certain that we must believe wholeheartedly in what we do, but we must also believe in what we might do in the future.

Edgar Degas summed up that concept, “You have to have a high conception, not of what you are doing, but of what you may do one day: without that, there’s no point in working.”

In common with countless other artists I’ve been told, “You’re never satisfied with your paintings.”, but that’s only partially true.  I am satisfied with my paintings, otherwise I would never let them out of the studio, but I admit that I often feel a work hasn’t turned out exactly as I originally intended.  That doesn’t mean it’s either better or worse, but just different.  I’ve mentioned before on this blog that I enjoy the evolution of a painting, and my working methods probably support the evolution rather than attaining a specific result.  

The vital part though, is believing that next time could be that ultimate creation where everything comes together.  Next time will be the culmination of years of experience, practice, insight, knowledge…  Of course it won’t, because thereafter there would be no point in working, as Degas rightly observed.  It’s the aspiration that drives us forward.

That’s all for now.  Time for a good night’s rest, and tomorrow I’ll start that ultimate painting.

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Art History, Business of Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

