What is a Giclee Print?

Lately I’ve seen quite a few queries on the Web about giclee prints – what are they and who supplies them?

A Giclee (pronounced zhee clay) print is a digitally produced fine art print created using ink jet technology.  All of my prints are made using the giclee  method rather than the traditional four-colour offset lithography process.  A huge advantage of giclee prints is that the colours are much more lightfast than the lithography method.  One of my Heading Home prints was displayed in a gallery window (without sunlight protection) for three months; I thought that print would have faded significantly.  When I took it out of the window I couldn’t tell the difference between that one and those that had been stored out of the light.  Customers can have confidence that when they buy a print they can go on enjoying it for years without fear it will fade.  You can see examples of my limited edition prints here: http://www.jackiegarner.co.uk/Store/wildlife-art-shop-window_prints.htm

The print company that I use (Sky Blue Digital Ltd, based in Clevedon) makes a superb job of reproducing my originals.  They scan the original artwork on site so they can match the printed colours to the original.  An added bonus for me is that I don’t have the difficulty of photographing my paintings at home.  I’d certainly recommend Sky Blue to any artists and photographers who are interested in reproducing their work.  Their number is 01275 878000; why not give them a call?

A good quality product, benefits to my clients and I can support a local business.  Success!

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Business of Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

