I Have a Cunning Plan….

…to stop the magpies and jackdaws from eating all the food I put out for the smaller species. I’ve just bought two new peanut feeders but instead of putting peanuts in them – my birds don’t seem to like peanuts much – I’m going to put fat balls in one and half a fat block in the other. The mesh is too small for the bigger birds but ok for the smaller ones. Fingers crossed it won’t deter the juvenile great spotted woodpecker either, as I wouldn’t want to lose him/her. Yes, I know bigger birds need food too, but as far as I’m concerned they’ve already had more than their share.

Will it work? I’ll keep you posted, so watch this space!

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

