A Brush with Watercolour

I’m very happy to say that I’ve recently been endorsed by Winsor & Newton as one of their featured (watercolour) artists. You can find me on their website http://www.winsornewton.com/featuredartist.aspx?PageID=409&path=community%2ffeatured-artists%2f 

I tend to use different suppliers for different media, but Winsor & Newton have long been my choice for watercolour supplies. I use their artists’ quality half pan watercolour paints but above all I love their Series 7 kolinsky sable brushes. I’ve been a fan of those for over twenty-five years.

Series 7 were created after Queen Victoria commanded Winsor & Newton to make the finest watercolour brush in her favourite size, the number 7.

Watercolour painting of feathers

Kind of Blue

Anyone who has seen my feather paintings will know that I need to be able to create both fine detail and broader washes of colour. For that I need brushes that have a fine point together with enough “belly” to hold paint. The last thing I want is to run out of paint mid-brushstroke, which is all too likely with a tiny brush.

Most of my watercolours are completed with six brushes: Series 7 sizes 2, 4, 6, 10, a large wash brush and a Short Flat Artisan brush size 2. The latter is particularly useful for lifting colour out, though it is actually designed for use with acrylics.

Although I’ve owned many watercolour brushes over the years, I now know that a few well chosen, top quality brushes will do almost everything I need. Yes, there are a few occasions when a specific brush may prove useful, but for day-in-day-out painting, it’s best to stick to the ones that have consistently proved their worth. 

I love my brushes’ performance, so I’ve just voted for them in About.com’s Readers Choice Awards, and guess what? They’re leading the voting in the Brushes category, which doesn’t surprise me. If you’d like to vote for your favourite art materials here’s the link: http://painting.about.com/library/bl_2011-readers-choice-awards-form.htm

P.S In case you were wondering, the image title Kind of Blue relates to a Miles Davis track of the same name. I was listening to it whilst painting and it fitted the painting perfectly.

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Brush with Watercolour

  1. Update: Winsor & Newton Series 7 won the Brushes category with nearly 20% more votes than their nearest rival. Looks like I’m not the only fan!

Leave a Reply

