Inspired by Deer

One of my happiest childhood memories is walking in the local woods, looking for fallow deer. It’s something I still love doing today, and these days such activity brings the added bonus of inspiration for a painting.

Watercolour of a fallow deer

Fallow deer watercolour

Last week was no exception. The welcome spring sunlight enticed me out for a gentle ramble through the woods. I’m always surprised that such beautiful countryside attracts relatively few people, and on this occasion I encountered no one during a two hour walk.

Fortunately my encounters were with wildlife: buzzard, nuthatch, marsh tit, a single fallow deer, and then three more. I loved the way the dappled light fell across the deer, echoing their spotted coats.

So I returned with ideas for two paintings, but as the views were brief I’d had no chance to sketch. Sketching a species is imperative as the artist learns so much about the appearance and structure of the animal prior to painting.

Luckily I live near a deer park which has both a small semi-wild herd and a few tame fallow deer. It provides a perfect opportunity to gather the photographs and sketches that I need.

Now that I have both the inspiration and the reference material I’ll be working on a deer painting over the next few weeks. I’ll post the painting on the blog when it’s complete, so watch this space!

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Nature, Wildlife Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired by Deer

  1. citybird01 says:

    Haven’t seen wild deer up close for years. You just reminded me how beautiful they are.

  2. I love fallow deer. Everyone else seems to agree that roe are the prettiest but fallow are my favourite. Hope my next painting does them justice.

Leave a Reply

