Follow Me!

Eleven months ago, despite earlier protestations that I never would, I started using Twitter. (For those of you who’d like to follow me on Twitter I’m found under the name of @garnerart.)

On Fridays on Twitter many people use the hashtag #ff or #FF to recommend their friends/followers/family who are also on Twitter. #FF stands for Follow Friday, and it’s a great way to network.

My only problem with it is that after you’ve seen tweet after tweet recommending eight people at a time you start to glaze over and don’t notice any of them. What starts as a recommendation soon becomes counterproductive.

So from this day onwards here’s how I’m going to manage my #FF: (1) no more than four recommendations per tweet. (2) recommendations will be grouped together eg all artists/birders/art shops (3) I’ll particularly recommend people I’ve had contact with earlier that week. 

In addition, I’m going to link my blog and my Twitter recommendations. That way it will be a proper recommendation with more information than I can fit in to a 140 character tweet. I’ll include websites where possible so hopefully these recommendations will be useful whether or not you’re on Twitter.

So for my first #ff blog stand up and take a bow @PegasusArtShop based near Stroud, Gloucestershire.

I like to support local businesses, and though I buy plenty of art materials online, I use traditional art shops too. Pegasus has a wide range of stock, will order specific supplies if necessary and offer a mail order and online service. Their staff are artists too, they’re always helpful and have terrific product knowledge, which is great if you need advice. As if that isn’t enough there’s also exhibition space and a workshop programme. Here’s their website http://www.pegasusart.co.uk – have fun exploring!

Let me know if you’d like to be on my #ff blog and I’ll see what I can do over the coming weeks. In keeping with my blog theme I’ll feature individuals and businesses relating to art, nature, art business and wildlife art.

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in #FollowFriday, Business of Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Follow Me!

  1. Pingback: The Business of Art Development « Jackie Garner, Wildlife Art blog

  2. Pingback: Who Should I Follow on Twitter? « Jackie Garner, Wildlife Art blog

Leave a Reply

