Wildlife Art in Print

Birdwatch magazineThis month I discovered that my ringed plover painting had been used in the September issue of Birdwatch magazine to highlight my forthcoming residency at Nature in Art (Sept 27 – Oct 02).

Whilst I was very happy about that, it was a bit of a shock to turn the page and come face to face with my own painting – I hadn’t known the information had been sent in. I’m a recent subscriber to Birdwatch so this was my first copy, and now I’m wondering if they’ve used my images before.

Ringed Plover
Ringed Plover

Come to think of it, which other publications have shown my work? Of course I’m pleased to have my work in the media, but I’d like to know so I can buy a copy of the magazine or newspaper. I also like to keep a record of exactly where my work has appeared.

Whilst it’s relatively easy to keep track of major interviews, coverage from press releases can easily slip through the net, especially if another organisation sent out the release.

So please, if you see my paintings in a publication do let me know. So far this year I’ve been in Cotswold Life, the Bird Fair Official Programme, the Gloucester Citizen, Herefordshire & Wye Valley Life and Birding World, and the Cotswold Essence interview is soon to be published.

You can contact me via my website Contacts page or see previous interviews on the In The Media page http://www.jackiegarner.co.uk/movies.htm.

For journalists there’s a special Press Room page on my website too. http://www.jackiegarner.co.uk/press-room.htm

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Business of Art, Nature, Wildlife, Wildlife Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wildlife Art in Print

  1. tripsfor2 says:

    snowy plovers are our favorite shorebirds, so we were thrilled to see your post today. love your art!
    as for publications using your work without credit, write to them and demand it. (they can print a “correction” in the next edition.)
    as a long-time journalist who has encountered this before (esp. online publications), my concern is that you’re not getting paid for your work while someone profits from your effort and talent

    • Thanks for your comment. I love watching and painting plovers as they’re my favourite wader/shorebird family, and I’m very happy that you like my work.

      Two issues here: (1) publications using work without credit and/or permission and (2) publications using work genuinely and crediting it but without the artist knowing of the usage.

      The main problem in both cases is that I’m unlikely to know that the work has been used in the first place. Even if I know a press release has been sent out, there’s no way of knowing if or where it has been used, so I’m reliant on other people telling me if they’ve seen something. Happily (as far as I know) I’ve always been credited, but I’ll certainly request a “correction” if I discover that anyone has used my work without crediting it. Thanks for your advice and concern.

      Work being used without permission is a problem for any creative professional, and then of course it isn’t credited because it’s being used illegally. Again, it’s only when the artist finds out that they are in a position to stop the usage or require credt and/or remuneration.

      It’s an interesting subject and I’d like to hear what any other readers have to say on the subject.

  2. Citybird01 says:

    Set up Google Alerts and at least you’ll know if you’re credited online. It won’t capture everything but every little helps, as they say.

Leave a Reply

