Homage to my Art Studio

Sometimes a single thought can change your whole day. I was feeling OK about today. Middling. Neither particularly good nor bad. Then, around midday, I suddenly realised that  this was quite an auspicious day. The day that said I’ve been working in this studio for three whole years.

How did that happen? Where did that time go? It simply doesn’t feel that long.

Prior to my taking over this wasn’t a studio at all, but if I had to design my ideal one I couldn’t have done much better. My previous art space was a very small spare room which I could barely enter for art paraphernalia, so you can imagine my joy when I found this. It was love at first sight! 

Jackie Garner's studio - before

Oh, the bliss of being able to keep all my art materials and equipment in one room and still have space to work. Not to have to pack up one lot of work before continuing with different project. Space for watercolours, space for acrylics, office space, display space. There’s even a water supply.

But back to today. I started mulling over the last three years and I realised how much has happened in that time. (I recommend this as an annual exercise, otherwise it’s so easy for artists to get caught up in the present and think we’re not making progress.) I really think it would have been so much more difficult if I hadn’t had such an inspirational space to work in. There’s even a fabulous view from the window. Here are some of my three year highlights:

  • Two major exhibitions, one local with two other artists and one solo show in London
  • Took part in group exhibitions, including Royal Institute of Painters in Watercolours
  • Took part in the wonderful Art in Action
  • Three Open Studios
  • Three residencies at Nature in Art
  • Artist at Bird Fair and five country fairs
  • Illustrated two books, with another in progress
  • Featured regularly in a series for local radio programme Country Matters
  • Major improvements to my web presence
  • Started this blog, and joined Twitter and Facebook and guested on other blogs
  • Released eleven new limited edition prints
  • Completed a Business for the Creative Industries course
  • My art was featured in five magazines
  • Created new range of Mindbender Puzzles
  • Started licensing my art
  • Commissioned to write and illustrate an art book

Once I’d realised it was the studio’s birthday and remembered all that I’d achieved in those years I felt quite celebratory. Suddenly it wasn’t such an average day, but one deserving of champagne, or at least cake.

Funnily enough, years ago I saw a photo of an artist friend in his studio. The space was huge, with white walls, A-frame beams, display space and good views from the window. My reaction, once I’d finished turning green with envy, was I’m going to have a studio like that one day.

Notice any similarities?

Jackie Garner's studio - after

Proof, if it were needed, that if you want something enough and work hard enough it can be yours.

I love my studio just as much today as when I moved in, so Happy Birthday to my wonderful studio – I couldn’t have done it without you. Here’s to the years ahead!

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Art, Wildlife Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homage to my Art Studio

  1. Wallace Studios says:

    Ms. Garner – Found your bog while daydreaming of a bigger, brighter studio. Now I know I’ll get there someday. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • You’re welcome. My best suggestion is dream it, visualise what you need and why you need it, be sure of it, but don’t worry about the timescale. Let that take care of itself while you keep working towards your other goals. It will come. Send me a picture when you’ve got it 😉
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

