“Avocet” – New Limited Edition Print

Painting of avocetI’m very excited to announce that my new Avocet print is now available on my website.

I mentioned in a previous post that WWT Slimbridge’s Wader Shore is a paradise for wildlife artists and it is fast becoming one of my favourite sketching sites. This new print has resulted from many hours of sketching and photographing at Wader Shore, though the acrylic painting was done back in my studio. Whilst sketching I loved the similar curves of the ripples, bill and sand, so that was what inspired the painting.

Being the symbol of the RSPB, the avocet is such an iconic bird. I’ve always enjoyed seeing them at Minsmere and on the river Exe, but having Wader Shore near by gives a great opportunity to see them much closer than is possible in the field.

avocet sketchesavocet watercolour

Here are a couple of pages from my sketchbook. As usual I sketched in pencil and watercolour then worked up the sketches in acrylics.

 

 

 

For more information please see http://www.jackiegarner.co.uk/Store/wildlife-art-shop_avocet.htm

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Nature, Wildlife, Wildlife Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

