The Wildlife Artist’s Handbook

Today is a very exciting day as I can announce that I’ve been commissioned by Crowood Press to write and illustrate a wildlife art guide.

The Wildlife Artist’s Handbook will be part of Crowood Press’s series of art titles. All are practical guides, treat the subject in depth and are lavishly illustrated. They start with the basics for those new to the subject and build up to advance techniques, thus appealing to all levels of artists.

The aim of my book is to provide an overview to the wildlife art world as well as giving plenty of practical advice. Subject matter will include worldwide animals, birds, insects and reptiles but not domestic animals. The book will be lavishly illustrated not only to show techniques but also to provide inspiration by showcasing some of the best of today’s wildlife art. I’m very encouraged that other artists have already expressed an interested in having their images included.

The book will be include:

  • Practical drawing a nd painting tips
  • Tips for working outdoors
  • Print making, sculpture and mixed media
  • Recommended equipment
  • Anatomy
  • Composition
  • Photography & the wildlife artist
  • A brief history of wildlife art
  • Wildlife art on the web
  • Wildlife art galleries, societies, competitions, magazines

Publication is due in November 2013.

Even at this early stage I am very encouraged by the feedback I’ve received about the book. Nature in Art Museum and Gallery is fully supportive and have agreed to a book launch and to my reproducing some images from their collection. West Midland Safari Park have kindly supplied complimentary entrance tickets so that I can sketch and study animals in their extensive collection.

At the moment the book is still at the research stage. Whilst I already have a good idea of what I want to put in the book, I’d be most interested to hear from others about what they think should be included. If you’d like to suggest any topics or techniques please contact me artist@jackiegarner.co.uk.

Coming soon: a dedicated Wildlife Artist’s Handbook page on my website with more information and regular updates as the book progresses.

 

About Jackie Garner

Wildlife artist.
This entry was posted in Art, Painting, Wildlife Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Wildlife Artist’s Handbook

  1. Slowvelder says:

    Feel free to come visit me in the African bush too 🙂

    • Awesome idea! You live in such an amazing place with fantastic wildlife. Wish I could postpone the book deadline and travel the world in search of great subjects but sadly I think the publishers would not be happy 😉
      BTW I adore the zebra image on your blog header, it’s gorgeous.
      Thanks for commenting.

  2. threadspider says:

    What an excellent commission. Congratulations and I am sure it will be a wonderful addition to a wildlife artist’s shelf. I will be looking out for my copy next year…

    • Thank you. It’s a really exciting project, though there’s a huge amount of work ahead of me. I’ll be posting updates over the year ahead so everyone can follow the book as it progresses.
      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Wallace Studios says:

    Your work is absolutely stunning, this is a wonderful tribute to your gift. Looking forward to your updates and wishing you the best of luck in your progress.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. I’m really excited about this book and want it to be hugely useful to (aspiring) (wildlife) artists everywhere. Other artists were so helpful to me when I was starting out, I hope I can do the same for others.

  4. Janet Glatz says:

    I’m a veteran landscape painter, but only a newbie at wildlife art, I wish your book were available right now! It sounds great.

Leave a Reply

